Longman & Eagle

Wild Board Sloppy Joe’s, Roasted Bone Marrow, and Charcuterie boards are just a few of the unusual delicious plates at Longman & Eagle. After years of hearing how amazing this spot was I recently had the opportunity of trying it with my roommate and girlfriend. We were not let down…

When we arrived they told us we had about an hour wait which wasn’t an issue for us because it meant we had more time to drink Bloody’s. While waiting we all ordered a round of Bloody’s which were delicious. You could tell the mix was homemade and had a perfect spicy kick to it. Sometimes when brunch spots try to make their own mix it normally turns out like cold tomato soup or thick salsa which definitely wasn’t the case here. The Bloody was also garnished with a nice cheese and pickle combo. Simple yet perfect. And lastly it had a salted rim which has become my favorite part of the Bloody Mary. To me the salted rim is like gravy to mashed potatoes or mustard on a hot dog…you just need it.
We ended up getting a second round of drinks while waiting for the table and my second choice was a Michelada(Bloody Mary Mix + Beer + Hot Sauce + Seasoning = amazing). I was a little skeptical because majority of bars in Chicago tends to mess this drink up. Well again I wasn’t let down. The Michelalda was made to perfection and even had a delicious salty rim plus it came with a beer back.

Longman Bloody

Bloody Mary

 

Longman Michelada

Michelada

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
The food was also great. We ordered the charcuterie board to start with and it was covered with cured meats and little pickled treats. For entrees we all got interesting dishes. My girlfriend Mary(yes her name is Mary) ordered the this Madame Croquet which was fantastic, I ordered the Country Fried steak, and my roommate Cooper ordered the Smoked Salmon Benedict. The food was all great in terms of taste but one minor detail….we all felt our dishes were cold. I’m sure it was because they were slam packed that day but our food could have been warmer thats for sure. Either way I highly recommend this spot to everyone with all types of tastebuds.

Longman char

www.longmanandeagle.com
2657 N. Kedzie Ave, Chicago, IL 60647
Phone: 773-276-7110

Leave a comment